How many of you check TIR & DTV on new rotors?

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve been working on cars for nearly 24 years now and I have never heard of measuring a rotor’s lateral runout just until a few days ago when I came across a video on YouTube. Curious to know how many of you knew about this, or if you even check lateral runout on brake jobs? 🙂

I've been working on cars for more year than I'd like to remember, if I could! I've never check rotor runout. I toss the rotors when their thickness gets anywhere near the minimum number.

I've been working on cars for more year than I'd like to remember, if I could! I've never check rotor runout. I toss the rotors when their thickness gets anywhere near the minimum number.
It was a very interesting rabbit hole to go down. Almost made me think if the guys making the brake rotor runout shims were the ones that came up with the idea 💡

I have, but I don’t always do it.

Hate to say it, but even with a good hub cleaning, many rotors will not meet the OEM standards for LRO due to stacked tolerances. You sometimes have to machine the rotor using an on car lathe to get under .001”

How exactly would a shade tree DIY measure run out? On the bearing I guess? You would need to measure the bearing run out first but I presume its a lot less?

What is the spec for allowed run out?
For your vehicle’s particular specs I would refer to the FSM or repair manual.

Here’s a quick vid referencing how to check runout:

How exactly would a shade tree DIY measure run out? On the bearing I guess? You would need to measure the bearing run out first but I presume its a lot less?

What is the spec for allowed run out?

Usually .0015” or less for front rotors, a lot of cars are now under .001”

Absolutely. Are on car brake lathes becoming more popular?