ACdelco PF47 vs PF52

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, they are interchangeable. My '01 Safari 4.3L specs the shorter PF-47, but I've been using the PF-52 for the last 4 years with no problems at all.

I've been using a PF52 sized filter on my 3.8, which is speced for the PF47. IIRC, it increased the capacity about 1/4 qt.

Scimmia beat me to it...I was just gonna say about 1/4.

If increased oil capacity is your primary reason for swapping, don't bother. I only do it for the increased filtering capacity which makes me feel better about going 5,000 miles instead of 3,000.
smile.gif

I too have been using the PF52 size filter on my wifes 2.2L Sunfire. I've been using the NAPA Gold 1036 (WIX 51036). It's approximately twice as long as the original filter that was spec'd for the engine (perhaps even more than twice as long). Alternatives designations are Quaker State QS3980 and the Fram PH3980.

Additional filtering capacity is one advantage; additional oil capacity is a slight advantage. A nice advantage is that this filter is lang enough to be a handful - so it's easy to get properly tightened by hand. This is a big plus for the Sunfire/Cavalier where this filter is in between the firewall and the back of the engine. It's nearly impossible to get the various filter wrenches down there without dropping them.

Quote:

I've been using a PF52 sized filter on my 3.8, which is speced for the PF47. IIRC, it increased the capacity about 1/4 qt.

If you don't mind me asking, what "PF52 sized" filter might you have settled on? I'm just starting an Auto-Rx sequence on my 3.8L using PF47-equivalents (ST & PureOnes). So I'm now looking for recommendations as to what to use as my permanent filter when I finally get back to normal using Penn Platinum 10W30 which is replacing Mobil1 10W30. I like the idea of going to a PF52 size can but would like to hear what others are specifically recommending in that size.