What type of oil you run?In your Oil Bypass

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ive just install an Frantz Filter,gone 500 miles replaced the TP.All was very clean,Did Cleaning with RX last year.Iam running VP Racing 10w40 Synthetic seems allmost an waste to change the TP every 3000 miles.Do you guys run Synthetic in these Bypass systems?

oilleakbill, I have been running dino Shell 5W20 for the past 4 1/2 years in my Escape. This vehicle is run all short runs and that is why i change the TP every 2-2500 mi. The inside of the motor is as clean as it was when new if looking inside of the oil fill cap means anything.

I run Rotella T 5W40 with my Frantz. I change TP at 5k and it still looks good. I like the Rotella syn, my uoa's come back very good. This is on a 7.3 Powerstroke.

I use Amsoil AME 15w40 in my dodge diesel in conjuction with a frantz. I agree with you that it is almost a waste to run synthetic and lose a quart of expensive oil every 2k (my tp change interval). But for me the synthetic helps with cold starts for the winter and keeps from draining good oil. I ran rotella dino to 10k with 4 quarts of makeup oil and the TBN was still in the high 7's. I am looking for something else to put in front of the frantz like a balwin b50 or an old amsoil bmk11 for cheap. Hopefully this will extend my tp changes out to 5-7k instead of 2 and add another quart or 2 of oil to my sump. I'm thinking the spin on bypass will catch some the larger particles and then go through the tp to get polished off.

BP80A - the whole setup should be about $60 installed with a EaBP90. Should extend the tp a good bit. Turn it into a polishing filter.

Old formula Havoline 10w/40. I meant to buy 10w30 but I misread the bottle decided to use it anyway. Considering how many miles I drive and the fact that I have two one gallon bottles, this should hold me for oil a good 8-10 years, baring unforseen circumstances.