Extreme Engine Failure: Phosphorus

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hate not having all information and trying to communicate, but here it goes:

I work at a dealership that had a truck come in on the hook about 2 weeks ago. The engine was totally fried.

When we looked at the oil, it was extremely thick. Syrup thick. The oil filter was completely plugged, which cooked the bearings and the rest of the engine.

It is difficult to describe the condition. It was literally as if someone had added a thickening agent to the oil that turned it to a consistency close to grease.

My second hand information:
It was fresh oil and filter. Less then 200 miles.

What I saw:
The oil was dark for "new." It was extremely thick. It felt as though something had been added.

The shop came to me since I have some faint knowledge of oil traits. I wanted to send it out to the same lab I use for my oil analysis, but they sent it somewhere else.

When the report came back, the only thing unusual about the oil according to this lab was: Excessive Phosphorus.

I asked how many PPM, and no one had an answer.

Any ideas what could cause this? Just theorizing at this point. According to the lab, this was the only thing noted wrong with the oil. No sugar, no foreign items, just excessive phosphorus.

I said I would look into it, but I just don't have any ideas as of right now. I wanted to initially point to coolant, but it didn't seem as though the oil had coolant in it.

The vehicle is a 2004 Ford F-150 with a 5.4. It should have g05 coolant. I seem to remember something about phosphorus in g05, but it has been too darn long.

Any and all ideas/input greatly appreciated!

The oil was new? Unlikely.

Could have been coke or some other soft drink with phosphoric acid. But water would have shown up as well as solids from the sugar.

You are asked to help - but no one will show you the analysis in writing?? Makes no sense.