vehicle reliablity survey

Status
Not open for further replies.
The site is interesting; I've never seen it before. Their sample sizes seem kind of small though. Of course consumer reports has similar reports available.

Edmunds.com is another decent site for reviews, but I would take them with a grain of salt, as you have no idea as to how well the cars were taken care of.
Edit: Nevermind, I see you're looking for a new car, not a used one
smile.gif
My bad.

Last edited:
Another consideration when buying a new car is service. If two different brands are about equal and one brand is well supported in your are, say by a good independent shop, it could be a deciding factor.

TrueDelta is my site. The sample sizes are small because I'm just getting started. But the panel is growing by about 10 percent per month, so this won't always be a problem.

I started the research because CR's methods for collecting data and reporting results leave considerable room for improvement. I compare our approaches here:

Consumer Reports critique

To grow the sample as fast as possible, I'm going to be providing full access to all results for free to anyone who helps out by participating, for as long as they participate.

If anyone has any questions, I'll be happy to answer them. Suggestions are also welcome.

FWIW, this appears to be an amazing site and forum. It's about time someone tried to dig through all the myths surrounding oil and get to the facts.

The owner of subaruoutback.org has agreed to help get the word out.

I'm not familiar with the other forum. I'll be sure to check it out. Thanks for the tip.

Data collection for the current quarter closes today. Next results in a couple of weeks. A few people from this forum have been helping out. Thanks, I appreciate it.