5W-30 versus 5W-20 in Mazda RX 8

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mazda USA requires the use of light 5W-20 weight oil in the RX 8 but through out the rest of the world Mazda requires the use of heavier 5W-30 weight in the same engine.

In the USA with the lighter oil the motors are over heating in warm weather and the engines are failing in slow trafic and on long trips within about 15,000 miles . The engine seals are failing and compresion is lost with the oil blowing into the catalytic converter which then is also failing. These engines by nature run very hot in the first place.

The dealership says I will lose the warrenty and the engine will fail sooner if I use the heaver oil. I don't care about the warranty and more about the engine being dependable.

Mazda requires this light 5W-20 weight oil to meet MPG requirements set by EPA to avoid million+ dollar fines.

What do some of you think ???

I think a couple of things - of course I'm not an expert on rotaries, but that won't stop me!

First, read what AEHaas has to say about low viscosity oil and engine longevity and reliability. At high temperatures, SAE 20 and SAE 30 won't differ much in viscosity, and the 20 may cool better. The higher number may be a red herring. For reciprocating engines, lower vis improves piston cooling and bearing cooling as well as reducing friction. A win all-around.

Second, that warranty is awfully handy if there is a problem, and I doubt that the rotary designers would approve a lube strategy that was unlikely to work. The warranty expense for the mfr is a big one if something systematic is wrong. Furthermore, it's not clear that a lower vis oil will actually improve the economy of a rotary. Maybe instead of trying to improve fuel economy, they chose it because it just works better. Maybe they use 30 elsewhere in the world because 20 is not readily available yet.

Cheers
JJ

jaj,