What Oil does the U.S. Army use in their Tanks & Hummers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does the military still perform quarterly oil samples and use the results to change oil and replace engines?

I was a motor officer of two different motor pools in the Army. My soldiers hated oil sampleing day, and I never understood why. My mechanics would have to go out on the line and help the operators perform the sample, that is, if we wanted it done correctly.

Oh yeah, we do. In fact, IIRC, what used to be the "NOAP" (Naval Oil Analysis Program) lab in Pensacola has grown into the JOAP (or "joint", reflecting the new we-all-work-together reality that's presently in vogue). Back in my active duty flying days, our mechs sampled the jets often. When I got out to go to law school and joined a reserve Motor-T unit, I was surprised to see that the truck mechs did the same thing (different techniques, of course...).

We did those JOAP samples back in the 80's, stopped because the crew chiefs were sticking the straws in the oil tanks and sucking the stuff from the bottom, and it was showing up as contaminated. So we were changing engines ( C-130) left and right until they figured out what was going on. It is no longer done.

my brother was a Nuke (nuclear engineer) on a sub and he told me they used Royal Purple on the subs. Im not sure if Nuclear subs used that oil or if he was referring to the older diesel subs.

The agency that procures the oils and other lubricants for DOD is located in Richmond VA. They purchase engine oil primarily by military performance specification and typically buy by brand name only. They advertise by announcing solicitations which prospective vendors will respond to. The lowest bidder typically will be awarded the contract but now they have factored in such things as responding to delivery schedules, quality control, etc., and these may at times negate the lowest bidder from getting the contract.