1999 VW Passat 1.8T best oil to use

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this site...just stepped over from the Passat owners site Club b5.
I have a 1999 Passat I just purchased with 39K miles on it in nice shape and running fine. All the oil changes were done at the dealer and now that I have it I want to run the best oil for the turbo engine. I am not an oil expert by any means and would like to know what is the best oil to run. Here are some considerations...

I live in Seattle, drive over the mountains once in a while, but mostly city/highway driving and the occasional "spirited" driving session.
I will soon be putting a chip in so boost will be more than stock
I would like to go with a Synthetic and still change out oil at around 3 -5K miles.
I am not really too worried about the price of oil, I am more interested in ability to protect the engine, performance, etc.
I have been told to run Mobil 1 0-40W, but is there a better one to run for my conditions? Perhaps if you could list your top 3 picks so I can make sure I can find one of them.
Any (and all) help is really appreciated.
smile.gif

Bob (Spooner)

If I were you, I'd get a 5W-40 that's A3 rated and that meets VW 502.00. If you can't find that, German Castrol 0W-30 (red label) meets VW 502.00 and is also a very good choice for your motor.

Personally, I'd pay more attention to UOAs than factory approvals... but the oils I've used meet VW approval in "some" way.
grin.gif

Widely available:

Mobil 1: 5w-30, 0w-40, 10w-30
Castrol Syntec: 0w-30 (aka "German Castrol")

5k drain should be good but you could go longer by using UOA as a gauge.

My 1.8T (chipped) runs on M1 10w-30 for the SoCal winter and 50%-50% mix of M1 10w-30 and 15w-50 for the hotter months when I go to Nevada and the Sierras. 7500-8000 drains.

[ January 21, 2004, 06:09 AM: Message edited by: Bugzii ]