Simple Green vs Orange Blast (Grease Lightning)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any preferences between the two? I've used both and I think the Orange Blast is by far a better degreaser, but for cleaning the engine, Simple Green might be safer of the engine. Any ideas?

I have been cleaning my engines for over 10 years now with Simple Green, (cold engine only), and they both look like new. I will stick with what works. Bill T.

I dunno about performance. But I sure like the smell of the orange stuff. Simple green in close quarters makes me have breathing difficulties, all wheezy like.

I have in the past degreased cars from stem to stern immaculately, like a virgin, with Simple Green. I mean oily, greasy, beaters looked like new when I was done. The Simple Green smell hangs on for a few days, though. And I would get plenty of fresh air.

The Orange stuff I have simply not used it on an entire car. I few spots and it seemed to work OK, nothing miraculous - maybe equal to Simple Green.

One thing for sure, both are better than the nasty old "Gunk" spray foamy or not....To think 20 - 30 years ago I used to use that solvent stuff. Smelled for a week or three.

Buster,

A can of Amsoil "Power Foam" used on a warm engine will work much better than simple green. It washes off cleanly with water, but it is solvent based. For really baked on grime, I use an old paintbrush to gently scrub the stuff off.

You have to be careful with the alkaline detergent cleaners, as they tend to oxidize aluminum parts.

Tooslick

Thanks guys. I'll consider the Power foam. I wanted to clean by hand though so I'm thinking the power foam might not be a good choice.

For sure NEVER use Castrol Purple on aluminum. It will etch the shiite out of Al.

Never used Amsoil Powerfoam, I must admit, because Simple Green and the Orange stuff are so cheap and work so well.