Opinions/experiences w/ KYB shocks/struts

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using KYB shocks/struts in my Volvos for many years. IMO, they simply offer the best performance & value for the dollar. There are some Volvo owners who find them to be too harsh/firm. While they are more firm than OEM Boge hydraulics, they're not nearly as firm as high performance Konis or Bilsteins. I know KYB offers thier products for many applications and was wondering what other vehicle owners thought of them(especially American made vehicles).

[ November 18, 2003, 11:03 PM: Message edited by: Volkster ]

quote:

Originally posted by Volkster:
I've been using KYB shocks/struts in my Volvos for many years. IMO, they simply offer the best performance & value for the dollar. There are some Volvo owners who find them to be too harsh/firm. While they are more firm than OEM Boge hydraulics, they're not nearly as firm as high performance Konis or Bilsteins. I know KYB offers thier products for many applications and was wondering what other vehicle owners thought of them(especially American made vehicles).

Once upon a time, around 1978, there were only 2 makes of shock that were worthy of the name. In other words, they deserved the name "shock." They were Bilstein and Ohlins. Now, a 1/4 century later, one more name can be added to the list. The new member of this "hallowed hall of fame" is KYB.

I am no shock expert, but I do listen to those who are. Ask the Daytona crowd...those people who go 'round the banking at 150-240 mph. They will tell you.

I have KYB 4 way adjustable struts on the front of my 245 (240 Volvo 5 door wagon). Indeed GREAT shocks, and the price was great. I wish I would have bought 5 pairs 6 years ago when they quit making them!!! They have an adjuster screw in the top of the strut rod.