Anyone Running a Diff Oil Temp Gauge?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I used to work as a Lab Tech at Auburn Gear, testing and evaluating their limited slip differentials. We had thermocouples installed on our test vehicles. We would test under extreme conditions until the temperature reached 250 degF. Philip.

Good post, I was wondering this myself. While we're on the subject of diffs, my D35 rear diff on my Jeep makes a constant errrrrrrrr sound (not too loud) at speeds of 45mph and below...the noise is much less durings speeds above that on the highway which is more of a light shhhhhh sound. The only thing I had replaced in the rear diff were the carrier bearings at 50K and have been using synthetic 75W140 ever since(currently 102K miles on the OD). Any ideas?

I used to build towing and recovery equipment and still drive occasionally (just because I like the abuse). The two trucks that get the hottest gear oil temps are a 2001 T800 Kenworth and a 1990 T800 Kenworth. The older truck is a 1040 Rotator wrecker that weighs in at 53,000lbs unloaded and has a 450hp Series 60 and 46K Eaton Diffs. The newer truck is a 550 hp C-15 also with 46k Eatons, unloaded only 43,000. I've had 200 degrees in the new truck pulling mountain passes when loaded out past 120,000 gross. This truck normally runs 100-140 with average loads. The older truck runs about 25 degrees high in a similar situation since it's unloaded weight is higher.

My 2001 F350 (10.5 Sterling single tire)does not have a thermocouple yet, but it gets hot enough with synthetic 75w140 to bake the paint off the inspection cover.

offtopic.gif
The newest editions to Pete's Towing fleet all have 46k Eatons that are factory long life filled with synthetic 75w140. Anybody know who makes lube?

Hi,
sorry but I only have statistical data on heavy trucks (500hp DD DDEC4)

Col 1 is average, Col 2 is highest)

18 speed Gearbox: 86C - 100C Synthetic SAE50
Front diff 462P: 90C - 102C Synthetic 75w-90