Adding synthetic automatic transmission fluid

Status
Not open for further replies.

DR

Is it safe to add synthetic transmission fluid to the regular transmission fluid I have in there now? Just in case I need to add a little, I wouldn't want to screw it up.

I think so. I am going to put Mobil 1 ATF in my Saturn. It will drain 4 quarts, so it be mixing with the fluid in the torque converter. I know some Saturn Techs said it would not be a problem, and other Saturn owners do it all the time.

Maybe get one of the experts here to verify. I am a newbie in the learning phase. But, have a feeling it is kinda like people mixing synthetic and dino oil. You just get a blend.

Yes, as long as it is the correct type. There are several different incompatible tranny fluids used by the various mfg.

With some auto companies the fluid you need varies depending on which transmission they put in. Volvo, for example, uses some GM automatic transmissions and some Aisin Warner ... and they take different fluids.

John

I agree with jthorner. Transmission fluids are all manufactured to meet one or more specifications. As long as the fluid meets the spec required by your car, you'll be safe running it whether or not it's synthetic.

Just keep in mind, if you're running a Ford product, Mercon and Mercon V are completely different. Mobil 1 ATF meets the Mercon spec, but not Mercon V.

I too think the AMSOIL ATF I put in all 3 of my cars will go in most any . I did wonder if the Toyota fluid is a blend anyway. Is there any factory fluid thats Synthetic.
dunno.gif

Thanks for the help guys. I have a nissan altima so the mobile 1 synthetic atf meets my requirements, just wanted to make sure they would blend okay. I remember reading something here a while back about Honda accord's having problems with it so I was just checking.

My wifes Aerostar had 4 partial changes (about 4 out of 10 quarts each time. First was dino, next two were Mobil 1, last was Redline (2 weeks ago). Runs fine