Brake fluid analysis - is it possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is one for the experts:

Is it possible to do a brake fluid analysis? I was thinking: since some perform engine/atf/gear/ps oil analysis why not to check a brake fluid for wear and contaminations? If I'm not mistaken most of the high quality brake fluid on the market is borate-ester based. What can we tell about a condition of brake fluid from analysis? What tests should be performed? Is it even possible to request such analysis from a lab like a Blackstone, Amsoil, or Shaffer's? Do we need a special kit for brake fluid or a regular oil analysis kit can be used? How much this analysis will cost?

Regards,

I'm not an expert in brake fluid analysis, but I wouldn't bother to sample it, I'd just change it. I thought moisture was the biggest concern. If moisture is present, then all kinds of things can start to happen in there.

Where would you draw the sample? From the MC? I'm not sure how much the fluid circulates, but I don't think it would be an accurate sample on representing the fluid status at each brake cylinder. I certainly don't think it would be cost and time effective to drain a sample from each wheel for analysis.

I like to change mine every couple of years anyways. If you don't care to bleed them, then spend the $25-30 for a shop to do it for you - that would cover the cost of an analysis and your labor.

[ April 09, 2004, 05:56 AM: Message edited by: bulabula ]

Titanium_Alloy,
I did see something advertised at one point that was a test strip that you would dip in the MC reservoir to test the fluid condition. Now, I'm not sure if it would test for contaminants or moisture or what. It was marketed to shops in order to sell brake fluid changes.

But, as bulabula mentions, I'd just change it out every two years or so. Take the money you would spend on analysis and buy a pressure bleeder. It's a great tool and makes the job very easy.

Bogatyr