Diesel Fuel Oil Dilution - 5w-30 Castrol Edge Pro. C1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All,

First of all I would like to say I enjoyed looking through your website having just signed up, I could not find this topic on your site, so I hope you can point me in the right direction if this has already been thrashed out?, Thank you

A bit of history: I am a 70+ Marine Engineer still working mainly on Marine Diesels up to 2,000 hp. I have recently been asked to look at and service the 3.0 lt. V6 Diesel which are currently being used in late Range Rover & Jaguar vehicles, these engines all have DPF and associated emission specs.

I am concerned about the varying degree of Diesel Fuel Oil Dilution that I am seeing in the used Oil sample results, I believe it is a consequence of the DPF regeneration and the current engine management to meet emission standards?, I have been trying to wrestle with this whole concept of a late Diesel Fuel Injection on the exhaust stroke to meet this criteria?.

I believe the above eng. management coupled with the long service intervals being touted by the different manufactures including Castrol - in regards to the recommended Castrol Edge Professional C1 - 5w-30 for these V6 Diesels, is not helping with engine longevity?, I would appreciate any thoughts on this matter, Thank you

Yes, when used on short trips, the DPF regen can cause diesel contamination of the oil. The early Mazda 6 and CX5 suffered from this issue.

My Outlander has an "X" marked on the dipstick, about 20mm above the "full" dot, and if the oil level reaches this point, the oil is supposed to be drained and replaced. Mine has never had a problem, as it is driven 25 minutes each way to work, 5 days a week, mainly in 100km/h zones, and gets hot enough for passive DPF regen to take place.