LCD TV - fix or replace

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 32 inch Sharp Aquos LCD TV that started smelling like " burnt electronics" and died. I took it apart to see if I could find anything obviously broken/burned but no luck. It's about 10 years old. Any insight on repair or replace?? I have little knowledge or experience in TV repair.

Toss it.

Prices for new are so low that a repair just isn't economically viable.

Your a day late and a dollar short for the Black Friday pricing that lasted through yesterday at Best Buy on some models.
A dead 32" TV is disposable.

You can however get a new 32" for $99 at Best buy. It will probably have a better picture than your TV ever had.
The only thing the ancient LCD TV's were better at 10-15 years ago was sound quality. The small cheap LCD TV's had slightly larger speakers because the larger cases allowed for it.
Keep that in mind.

Originally Posted by BigD1

My bedroom TV went bad this past Spring, and I bought a new 32 inch Sceptre from Walmart for $89.99.

Wow, that's pretty sweet. When I got my 32" ten years ago they tried selling me a warranty for $200. I declined, figuring by the time my TV died, they'd be cheaper.

I'm not wrong.
lol.gif

My Dad had a 2008 LG plasma fixed twice, the second time the guy could not fix it but still charged him labour. Both repairs probably cost 80% of a new TV and he only got a few years out of the first repair.

Replace with LED. Also, Walmart etc have TV's with lower processors. Amazon and Bestbuy and other Tier 1 big box stores have the high speed electronics. If that matters to you. Although you pay $$$ for it.