Krytox for Car Wheel Bearings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Scored a deal on 0.5kg of Krytox GPL 223 ($51.36 on Amazon before it jumped to $143.64).

It'll be used for the wheel bearings all around. Front is conventional ball bearing, open so no built in seal to worry about damaging. Rear is a pair of taper roller bearings in the drum.

I remember reading because this stuff is dense, less is supposed to be used. Can anyone clarify on this?

Maybe a grade of it is used for scuba. I'm no scuba expert.

Straight from the sell sheet: "The GPL 22X series contains sodium nitrite corrosion/anti-wear inhibitor and is ideal for corrosive environments where there is no danger of the sodium nitrite additive reacting with chemicals or causing contamination problems. Typical applications are automotive bearings, sealed pump bearings, electric motor bearings and general purpose bearings."

I know enough that too much or too little lube will affect bearing life. The question is how much is too much/too little? Should the bearing be packed by volume or mass?

A very expensive wheel bearing grease for sure. Not sure I see it as worth the cost. We use it where I work in non-automotive applications.

Can't say that I see the benefit.

But if there is a difference, you'll probably want to try to pull either an application guide to help identify the delta, or attempt to pull bulk density numbers and see how they compare.

Yes I'm aware that it's an expensive grease at normal prices. I paid $50 for the tub not $260 like it sells for elsewhere. Ignore the money aspect; I already have the grease.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97xYjQSTCow

This is the video I'm referring to when it comes to filling. They say 15-80% original volume, and to consult the manufacturer for weight filling due to the density.

223 uses an ISO 32 base oil. That's equivalent to SAE 8 motor oil. Typically automotive wheel bearing greases use an ISO 220 base oil. That's equivalent to SAE 50 motor oil.