Light scratches/Water Spots

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
I haven't taken very good care of the paint on my Sonata. I bought it used 2/2017 used, it was a rental car for a while and had another owner before me. Last year at some point I used a clay bar and waxed it with some Meguiars. Other than that I washed it by hand last year, this year mostly with a touch less car wash but have taken it through the swirl-o-matic a couple times.

It's had water spots dried into the paint for a long time, and have no idea how to get rid of them. I don't think clay helped all that much. They're only visible usually at dark in the right angle with a light, but also in the day time if you're looking for them. It also has scratches from neglect and who knows what the previous care was before me.

Was thinking of getting a DA polisher from Harbor Freight. I'm new to detailing stuff, I've clayed and hand waxed but definitely nowhere close to an expert.

What would you guys recommend? Just looking for an improvement, I'm not a perfectionist whatsoever.

Thanks.

Below is a terrible picture I took a few weeks ago at night in the parking garage at work, with the reflection as a light on the ceiling.

[Linked Image]

I'd pick up a decent polisher and some Griot's One Step.

Should take care of those defects easily and leave the paint protected.

You know....

.. back in 2015, I got tired of the spider web swirling, scratches, etc.. in the paint of my Fusion, put there by its previous owner, and decided to do something about it. I picked up a HF DA, tons of Meguiars polishes, compounds, waxes, etc.. and went to work. Turned out great, but of course, I'm so careful with the car, that I have not yet had to do any follow-up on it. I still have the DA and all the Megs stuff, and I've even purchased some (much) better pads for the DA, as well as a Griot's DA for finer work.