Winter project boat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pivoting away from cars for a bit...

Early fiberglass Century Resorter. I am new to boats. We have a modern Sea Ray in the extended family, great capable & reliable boat but it has all the character of a Clorox bottle. I always wanted a classic woodie, but wood boats are a lifestyle not a hobby...for when I am retired. I targeted early glass classics and found this a couple states over. Merc V8 inboard...I lean towards European cars, but few things sound as good as a big American V8, especially through a water exhaust. The idle hooked me.

Strong motor, solid floors, needs some minor electrical attention and a good fluff & buff after sitting. Some owner seems to have covered some of the wood trim with vinyl, so that will go. Otherwise, is very original and, importantly, un "improved" by the prior owners. Most importantly, she has the big fittings of a classic and is pretty unlike most modern boats.

Time to learn something new... Any other old boat fans?

Some once said to me "....nothing is as expensive as a cheap boat" :)

Resort bow po.jpg

res edit.jpg

I laughed at your last comment.

BOAT Bust Oat Another Thousand. LOL

Looks nice, should be a fun project. Big cheap V8. Plus it looks to be in really good shape.

Guy driving it looks thrilled.
smile.gif

Closed loop cooling system?

I would love a wooden boat. but not now...… our current "old" boat is an 88 Bayliner that is up at mom's. I don't think it fits your definition. yet it gets used every summer and almost never disappoints. oops! I just forgot we need a new Bendix on the starter - someone forgot to grease it - ever. (I hang my head in shame) our newer boat was a huge disappointment this year: The marina put it through a wall - taking it out of commission the first half of the summer; and then I broke my leg - putting me out of commission the 2nd half. But yes, I like the simple clean design. yours appears to be a ski boat.