Thoughts on GM Ecotech engines?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking at maybe getting another used car that would have an ecotech engine. Maybe a HHR.
Any people with experience/problems with them? Good comments about them?

I am a laid back driver.

Originally Posted By: ZZman
Looking at maybe getting another used car that would have an ecotech engine. Maybe a HHR.

I am a laid back driver.

Recalls, recalls and more recalls. Ask me how i know

The Hippie Hot Rod! I recall (lol) they are decent engines with a few known issues that have mostly been addressed with TSB's.

Originally Posted By: car51

I am a laid back driver.

Recalls, recalls and more recalls. Ask me how i know

How do you know? And examples please.

jk_636 knows a lot about them
27.gif

Had a HHR. No motor problems. 32 MPG. Car was otherwise mediocre. AC powerful thanks to narrow windows and heavy tint.

I was impressed by the drive-by-wire throttle and its integration with the auto trans. Seamless downshifts when I nailed it.

Lots of front end issues, brakes and wheel bearings like any other GM lump.

Don't pay over $2k.

GM sabotaged the luggage compartment with plastic lumps that intrude on space. Wife can't fit a saxophone in its case in the way-back. Her prius has more room.

At least they're better than the PT Cruiser.
lol.gif

You could get a cobalt or late cavalier, but again, keep it cheap.

I am a laid back driver.

There are a few different versions of the Ecotech installed in HHR's.

'06-'08 L61 2.2L Non-VVT......Probably the best of the Ecotech's
'06-'08 LE5 2.4L HO Non-VVT....Don't have a lot of experience with these

'09-'12 LE8 2.2L VVT....VVT solenoid & VVT phaser issues, If the timing chains gets a little wear...It will set cam/crank correlation codes.
'09-'12 LE9 2.4L VVT....See LE8.

'08-'10 LNF 2.0L VVT/DI/Turbo....Not worth mentioning as they are rare & still sought after.