Advance Auto Parts 5w20 VOA

Status
Not open for further replies.
This oil looks weak.

crushedcar.gif

I thought all 5w20 dino oils had *some* Group III base oil, therefore a weaker add pack?

Not a bad GF4 SM rated oil for 98 cents.

Guy behind the counter at AA last night told me that Havoline makes the house oil for Advance....not sure he knows or was making a sales pitch lol

Goose
patriot.gif

Here's a VOA that I did based on some of the comments made about AAP 5w20 on this and other forums for. I also posted this on another Ford Forum as I'm thinking about using it. I'm a novice UOA interperter, but I'm not that wild about this oil. Looks like there's a reason as to why it's cheap. Is a SI number of 4 normal for a brand new oil?

Black stone Labs

EQUIPMENT MAKE:
EQUIPMENT MODEL:
FUEL TYPE:
OIL USE INTERVAL: Virgin
OIL TYPE & GRADE: Advance Auto Parts 5w20
MAKE-UP OIL ADDED:

CLINT: No problems showed up in this sample of virgin oil. These additives are normal for a 5W/20 product. No moisture or excessive wear was found. The insolubles probably shouldn't be there but we are increasingly often finding traces in virgin oil samples. The insolubles aren't hurting anything. The TBN was okay for a gasoline engine oil at 7.3.

VOA
...................ACT.........Universal Averages
ALUMINUM ......0...............1
CHROMIUM.......0.................0
IRON...............0................1
COPPER...........0................0
LEAD................0...............0
TIN.................0................0
MOLYBDENUM....51..............60
NICKEL.............0................0
MANGANESE......0................0
SILVER.............0................0
TITANIUM.........0................0
POTASSIUM......0.................0
BORON.............0................30
SILICON............4................3
SODIUM............0................43
CALCIUM...........1253............1622
MAGNESIUM..........4.............81
PHOSPHORUS.......501............588
ZINC...................610............703