Reccomend a good set of tools to carry with you on a bike?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to motorcycles and I'd like to put together a basic tool kit to carry in my saddle bag on my Harley Davidson. What common tools might I need if I break down. I can't carry many tools because my bag size not huge.

Can you reccomend a good (smallish) set to that should get me out of a jam if need be(I'll probibly buy Sears Craftsmen tools to make up the kit)? Thank you for any help!!!!

You may want to give this company a try Cruz Tools They make specific tool kits for Harley Davidson. Popular and expensive, the tool kits that is...
grin.gif

Ride Safe.

quote:

Originally posted by Steve128:
You may want to give this company a try Cruz Tools They make specific tool kits for Harley Davidson. Popular and expensive, the tool kits that is...
grin.gif

Ride Safe.

That is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you very much! Now which kit do I need?
cheers.gif

Besides tools I like to carry some mcguiver stuff too. Some wraps of duct tape around a wrench handle, and some safety wire wrapped around another tool doesn't take up any space. A few small bolts, screws,nuts common to your bike can be dropped in the kit without taking up any space. Guess it all depends on how far off the beaten track you travel? Touring I carry a bunch of stuff that rarely gets used, when it has it's been to help someone else out so it's nice to have some stuff thats not "my bike" specific.

Get the largest kit you can afford.
Harleys don't come with a tool kit, never did,IIRC.
Add extras according to your skill and possible needs.
A Hog or H-D dealer directory is a good addition too.

Of course, some are like Todd above; only need a cell phone and a credit card.

A bud that does long distant tours in his street rods once told me "breaking down is just an opportunity to meet new people and make new friends". He has plenty of experience to back it up and it's a great attitude IMO.