Mobil 1 or Something Else?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a couple of questions about Mobil 1 motorcycle oils. I am currently using Mobil 1 20W-50 V-Twin oil in my Suzuki V-Strom. I chose the 20W-50 on the advice of a friend because I was told it was superior to the MX4T. Also, I was also under the impression that my bike would shift slightly better if I used the heavier 20W-50 oil.

However, the Suzuki owner’s manual recommends a 10W-40 oil and I’m afraid that I’m using an oil that’s too thick for colder temps (40-50 degrees) and could do damage to the engine. Is there any reason for me to fear this? Would I be better off just to run the MX4T or should I just continue using the V-Twin oil?? I’m no oil expert so I’ll leave it up to you guys to point me in the right direction.

I’ve also heard that Mobil will no longer be offering it’s MX4T in quart size bottles, is this true?

If I can't get the MX4T 10W-40, do you guys have another brand to suggest? AMSOIL?

I'm no expert but I would not use 20/50 in cooler temperatures. In my air cooled bikes I ran 10/40 all year except for summer when I used 20/50.

You can't go wrong with any synthetic rated Jaso Ma or synthetic diesel oils like Rotella synthetic 5/40. Diesel oils with Allison C4, Caterpillar Powershift, or Clark Transmission ratings are fine for bike wet clutches too.

Amsoil, Mobil, Motul, and Silkolene make great bike oils.

The 20W50 will work ok in your liquid cooled twin but I would run the 10W40. I liked the XW40's better in my '97 TL1000 over the XW50's. But either work just fine.

Hiya RiverRat,

I'd stick with the primary weight recommended by Suzuki (40-weight in your case). Running a 20W-50 down in the 40's (F), especially a good synthetic like the Mobil, won't really hurt much. You may see slightly more initial wear at startup, especially if you don't keep the RPMs down until the bike oil is fully warmed up, however.