maintaining galvanized boat trailers

Status
Not open for further replies.
I always thought galvanized steel was supposed to last a long time, but I don't even put my boat trailer in the salt water that often. It gets used a couple times a month and always washed off. After about 3 or 4 years the bolts and all that need to be cut off with a torch.

I worked in the Marine industry for 7 years and have owned 11 boats myself. My opinion is that boat trailers in general are of extremely poor quality. Corrosion on components like nuts and bolts is common place especially for trailers put in salt water. I used to advise customers to spray down the questionable components of their boat trailers with S-100 Corrosion Protectant. It is a clear spray that will stop existing corrosion and prevent future corrosion. Use every time before launching your boat and you will not have a problem.

Galvanizing comes in quality based on how well the metal was prepped, how hot the solution was and the current applied and mostly how thick the galvanizing was/is. All fasteners should be SS if you don't want corrosion there ...

I think sitting outside getting rained on and out in the sun destroys them quicker than anything. Even if it doesn't get used.

Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman
I think sitting outside getting rained on and out in the sun destroys them quicker than anything. Even if it doesn't get used.

My trailer isn't galvanized but I agree with this 100%. I have sprayed Rust Check in all my nooks and crannies on mine as well as inside the frame, and have waxed it twice but it is still aging rather rapidly. It does not nor has it ever seen salt water, but the sun definitely takes it's toll on them.

I need to replaced my bunks this year as my 2 side bunks are shot. The carpeting that covers them holds the moisture and rots the H*ll out of them. Probably going to use pressurized lumber as that is all I can think of but would like to know if there are any alternatives?