What if both pilots become incapacitated?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’ve talked dozens of non-pilots, including kids, teenagers, all sorts of folks, through landings in a 747, 757, and 767 simulator when I was an instructor.

I’ve done it in the F-14 simulator, though NO amount of coaching and help led to a successful carrier landing.

But I’m sitting right there and can program the FMS, configure the airplane, and coach and direct in real time.

That level of help simply doesn’t exist except from an experienced pilot looking over your shoulder.

It will not exist in flight if both pilots are incapacitated.

Originally Posted By: Blaze
Looks like flight 11 (911) would have gone done anyway even if they had regained control from the terrorist.

The same terrorist(s) that performed aerobatic maneuvers well beyond the limits of the airframe(s) the first time piloting these aircraft outside of a simulator, all under the stress of a hijack situation?

Just want to make sure we are on the same page of the coloring book..

Originally Posted By: TurboTravis
Originally Posted By: Blaze
Looks like flight 11 (911) would have gone done anyway even if they had regained control from the terrorist.

The same terrorist(s) that performed aerobatic maneuvers well beyond the limits of the airframe(s) the first time piloting these aircraft outside of a simulator, all under the stress of a hijack situation?

Just want to make sure we are on the same page of the coloring book..

Can we please not go here?

The only place this is headed is a bunch of arguing and a thread lock.

Originally Posted By: Astro14
If you were already a private or commercial pilot, and you spent a couple of hours in the simulator with me, we could get you to the point of being able to operate the radios and basic auto flight management. You would have a fighting chance.

The MS flight simulator idea isn’t a bad one...that program is good.