30,000 mile drains, police cars

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been driving company pick up trucks for over 35 years .

At first , the trucks were a mixed bag & I checked the oil at every fuel stop .

Last truck I received was a new 2008 Silverado . 3000 mile OCI , Quaker State dino oil . With 150,000 + miles on the clock , I never check the oil . Have never been told , at the quick change place , that it was low on oil .

One , the boss is buying new trucks , now . Two , this truck & maybe the previous one , I am the only person to drive it . Three , they may be making the engines better , than in days gone by ?

Last edited:
4-6 years ago the Massachusetts State Police changed their fleet over to M1 0-20AFE and increase their OCIs to 10K I believe. They hooked up with XM for monitoring the fleet. I wonder how that worked out?

Working in law enforcement for an agency that has over 1800 sworn pursuit vehicles, and an additional 400 admin vehicles, in Florida, I call [censored].

None of our vehicles aside from some newer Fords have an hour counter anywhere in the OBDII system or ECU. And, I can promise you that nobody is scanning either of those thigns when my vehicle goes in for PM service (I've had a piece of scotch tape over the OBDII port for 30k miles now).

Speaking specifically to our old fleet which was composed mostly of 2008-2013 Chevrolet Impala PPVs (2008-2010's with the 3.9 liter 3900 variable displacement OHV V6 and 2011's on with the 3.6 PHC high feature V6).