Which brake grease?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: dogememe
Which one is best? I'd like to stick with just one, for all the tasks (slide pins, pad hardware, etc) rather than getting both the little ones. One less thing to lose
wink.gif
thanks all!

2GPchJS.jpg

The Permatex on the very left. It's silicone-based, not PAO based. The rest of those will swell rubber. I've used an older version of it with success.

However, I'm weary of using solid lubricants on rubber bushings.

Last edited:
Ended up getting Sil-Glyde from Napa for the slide pins, and using the Versachem for the rest of the brake job (since I realized I'd bought some a while ago and found it). So far so good! Thanks for your input on the Sil-Glyde
smile.gif

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: ArcticDriver
All these years I thought Sil-Glyde was full synthetic.

The Critic and I have been harping about this for several years. Most people are in denial about the miniscule silicone AND no synthetic in Sil Glyde. But, the test of time has proven it to be a good, rubber safe product.

Here's an enlightening older msds where they used to show the ingredients: https://www.bemidjistate.edu/offices/environmental_health_safety/files/msds/Sil-Glyde_Grease.pdf

Regarding your statement about non-objective opinions regarding swelling from certain greases, do a Google search about it. The fact that there is quite a lot of discussion should make a person wary to use anything besides Sil Glyde or a true silicone product. Unfortunately, it took the school of hard knocks to teach me about some of the new fangled unicorn dust products.

Take care, and keep the important things in life well lubed!

Originally Posted By: doitmyself
Originally Posted By: ArcticDriver
All these years I thought Sil-Glyde was full synthetic.