Grass Fed Ground Beef Anyone?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Linctex
Originally Posted By: Cujet
Beef does not taste like I remember. Today, none of the locally available beef tastes right to me. Quite simply, it tastes weird.
NOTHING tastes the same as when we were kids! Everything is bland and has no flavor anymore.
Originally Posted By: Reddy45
There's more people now.. more mouths to feed.. but we dont have any more land than before so those farmers have to make those cows grow quicker and send them to market. No different than pine wood... If it grows fast then there's just not enough time for things to concentrate and get built up........ no flavor.
Sadly, it is true.

I get your point. That's why I so enjoy fresh fish that is not farm raised. Locally we have Dolphin (mahi mahi) and other tasty treats.

Originally Posted By: Reddy45
Originally Posted By: Cujet
Beef does not taste like I remember. In HS, I worked as a meat cutter (not the same as a butcher) in an independent firm that used local beef. I'd just cut sections of beef for various vacuum packaging and rapid freezing. Then load the -50 to -60 freezer with the beef.

In any case it was good quality beef and I enjoyed eating it.

Today, none of the locally available beef tastes right to me. Of course, if I go overseas to a 3rd world country it's like I remember. I tend to avoid beef and beef products, as I don't care for it anymore. Quite simply, it tastes weird.

There's more people now.. more mouths to feed.. but we dont have any more land than before so those farmers have to make those cows grow quicker and send them to market. No different than pine wood versus something like oak. If it grows fast then there's just not enough time for things to concentrate and get built up.