What do you think of a 9 year old "new" vehicle?

Status
Not open for further replies.
2008 Scion xB

Never put into service, has 1,131 miles. Is the warranty good from the date of purchase by the first retail owner? Has the warranty been compromised by the lack of service?

A 9-year-old new vehicle, interesting.

I have a lot of experience with all sorts of vehicle Les that have had stupendously low usage over many years. Cars, boats, heavy equipment, RVs, etc.

I have one thing to say about these machines:

Run.

Sitting around without being used is not good for machines. Once you start using them frequently, all of the monsters are going to come out of the cracks.

Rather have one with 80k miles on it.

In the world of automotive appraisal, a car's value is inversely proportional to the amount of miles it has, but reality doesn't always agree.

One of my first jobs as a teenager was taking care of a warehouse full of 18-20 super survivor (108-2031 miles) muscle cars and "modern classics". Fuel lines opening up for no God given reason at all. Brake seals, oil seals, and batteries doing the same. Any diaphragm was always up for grabs. Anything that was supposed to move just might not anymore. Electrical issues nobody could explain the cause of.

RVs were the worst. 10 years old and 11k miles. Oh boy! Nicer they looked for their age, more issues they seemed to have.

It has about 125 miles/ year on it. Was it driven a little bit each year, or was it driven for maybe a month then parked and sat still? I don't think the car simply sat still for 9 years. Can you gather some background info on its usage? If it was driven even 100 miles/year, that would be enough to keep things moving. If so, I would buy it.

Originally Posted By: OneEyeJack
2008 Scion xB

Never put into service, has 1,131 miles. Is the warranty good from the date of purchase by the first retail owner? Has the warranty been compromised by the lack of service?

It's listed as used and no warranty.