The rarely seen Mobil Special, TDS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last edited:
Yeah Nygotha it is just fine for short runs. TBN is good at 8.6 and the rest of the results look actually just fine as well. I ran some of this in my car and it did just fine.

At $37/12 quart case at BJs, it's a great choice for those with normally aspirated vehicles adhering to severe service oil changes.

Originally Posted By: wemay

At $37/12 quart case at BJs, it's a great choice for those with normally aspirated vehicles adhering to severe service oil changes.

Not really a good price for a low level dino, especially when you have to pay to shop there
crazy2.gif

If it was $10 cheaper, it might be a decent buy.

^^^ Yeah, it's nothing "special" and neither is the price. I've never used this oil before, and I see no reason to use it with all the other choices on the market.

I agree with you Wemay that for $3.08 a quart is a decent deal. This oil is also approved Ford Ford Wss-m2c-946. Which means it has the same approvals has Castrol GTX, Pennzoil, and Mobil Super. This is the everyday price by the way. It has been on sale for $27.99 a 12 qt case. That makes it a very good deal at that price point.

I don't know what makes it a "low level dino". If it's the VOA additive chemistry, Valvoline doesn't show anything special either but the UOA are as good as any other major. Other's would point towards Mobil Special's positioning in the Mobil line of products. That i agree with but it doesn't mean that all their oils aren't excellent.

Mobil 5000 is guaranteed by XOM for 5K miles.

Mobil Special is guaranteed by XOM for 4K miles.

Ergo, Mobil Special is below Mobil 5000.

QED