2003 Oldsmobile ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Run away, That car is a POS...Had 2 friends that had aleros 2002 and 2004, pure garbage. Both of them had the timing chain tensioner fail on the 2.2

Electrical problems, fuel pumps and it wouldn't start sometimes because of the passlock anti theft

KBB lists the value at about $2200 for very good condition and $2400 for excellent condition. It looks clean. If you could get it for somewhere in that price range, I'd go for it.

I've been driving an '03 Alero for almost 14 years. Over 210,000 miles. I've had to fix a few things. Replaced the AC compressor a couple years ago. Replaced a front hub assembly due to a worn bearing. Had to have the head gaskets replaced. This was a real common problem on the 3400 V6. Replaced the cat.

The interior has held up excellent. Seats are in excellent condition. Carpet is in very good condition. Door panels and instrument panel are in very good condition, except for the passenger airbag cover. It came off a few years ago.

Originally Posted By: rocky8314

Electrical problems, fuel pumps and it wouldn't start sometimes because of the passlock anti theft

Oh yeah the N-bodies were turds though the alero might be the least rotten apple. BIL had a malibu, gah, it was horrid! I helped him outwit his passlock though by cutting "the yellow wire".

$1,000 in good shape with normal mileage. Maybe $500 with the abnormally low mileage because that always means problems.

Value for that car is anywhere between $1900-2300. I wouldn't pay a dime over $2300 and realistically I'd walk away unless I could A) get it for $2000 or B) I needed a car ASAP and this was the only reasonable option around. Either way, I think you and the seller are too far apart. They clearly value the low miles more than the car is actually worth.