Steering wheel wrap

Status
Not open for further replies.
How many of you all use a steering wheel wrap ?? I have been doing it for the last 8 yrs or so. It does save the steering wheel from deterioration from hand sweat. It also keeps the steering wheel from being quite a blistering hot as well. So, I am curious how many of you all use one?? And what designs if any do you like??

I wrapped mine with cork/rubber gasket material and leather. Then took it to the local tannery and had them dye the leather to the color of the steering wheel.
steering_wheel-after.jpg

If the wheel isn't already leather wrapped from the factory I do like Wheel Skins brand. You can get exactly the right width for a very nice result, and you can order two-tone versions of your choice if you want a custom look. Well worth the few extra bucks and time and effort to install.

As long as it's adhered securely to the steering wheel.

Those kind that just fit over the steering wheel are a hazard.

I have a worn leather wheel that I wrapped a torn section between spokes in one layer of cloth tape (hockey tape) and one layer of silicone tape. It's been a few years now and it has held up well. It's the top of the wheel so it gets a ton of abrasion from turning with one hand. If I had a steering wheel that felt cheap I would definitely wrap the entire wheel with this process. It feels pretty cool and has enough grip to be grippy but not sticky and annoying.

Please don't install a steering wheel condom,those things are horrible. Maybe an auto upholstery shop can re-cover it?

I already have one on there. It is a leather one that fits very tight and well. Simple yet effective. Its price was $23 I think.
Hope you feeling better today too.

Originally Posted By: bbhero
I already have one on there. It is a leather one that fits very tight and well. Simple yet effective. Its price was $23 I think.
Hope you feeling better today too.

Thanks!!
thumbsup2.gif
Finally today (the 4th day) I feel back to 100%!!