Cast-Iron Skillets

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been meaning to purchase a cast-iron skillet but keep forgetting to do so. Earlier this morning, I received this e-mail and wanted to get the community’s feedback on this particular skillet:

https://anovaculinary.com/the-field-company-8-cast-iron-skillet/?utm_source=Anova+Food+Nerd+Family&utm_campaign=ec3fcb763e-Field_Company_Launch_Email_7.25.17&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0315742ebc-ec3fcb763e-106160925&ct=t(Field_Company_Launch_Email_7.25.17)&goal=0_0315742ebc-ec3fcb763e-106160925&mc_cid=ec3fcb763e&mc_eid=0ce2097841

I am also open to recommendations on other cast-iron skillets. I will primarily be using it to sear sticks. I am new to this so any general recommendations on features and sizes to look for, would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Whenever these threads pop up on various forums, the majority espouse the virtues of cast iron and how much they adore their skillets. I hate mine. Everything sticks to it. It's heavy and takes maintenance and it's hard to clean.

Originally Posted By: Leo99
Whenever these threads pop up on various forums, the majority espouse the virtues of cast iron and how much they adore their skillets. I hate mine. Everything sticks to it. It's heavy and takes maintenance and it's hard to clean.

User error:
don't worry, mine too:
-I bought it "seasoned" from Aldi (probably chinese); it was really bumpy and not smooth
-EVERYTHING sticks to it.... Plus some smell.

I watch the inter-tubes, and i think over the weekend I will get a wire wheel to it and some good sanding, get it SMOOTH, then do some seasoning on the grill....

I hear you have to use pork fat or peanut oil for the most better "plasticizer" (is that a term?) layer....

The Critic: also some other threads, our BITOG-ers brothers recommended scoring the ebay for older pans (usually made in US, preferably before or after WW II)

Originally Posted By: Leo99

how are they hard to clean?