Too much light in interiors

Status
Not open for further replies.

The topic is driving at night. All examples here are about driving at night only.
Thankfully when I was a young man someone had suggested to me to turn my interior lights down as much as I could and still read my instrument panel. Good advice.
Here comes the complaint, I guess it's my turn today(#2) Thin Film Transistor liquid crystal displays or TFT are becoming more popular and many vehicles have more than one and they are adjustable but they always seem too bright. I admit that I have limited experience with the number I have seen or read at night(have not been lucky enough to drive a new R8 V10)but I think less light is best and some applications are more about impressing the driver/buyer.
When one considers how many separate light sources a driver contends with(IP, cell phone,GPS) its no wonder there aren't more night time accidents. Could there be a correlation with more drivers driving with high beams on because their pupils cannot dilate because there is too much interior light?
There are certain conditions where brighter lights can impede brisk progress. An empty two lane mountain road(at night) you turn your head to assess the uphill hairpin coming up but with your super ultra mega high beams your pupils have gotten pretty small, can't adjust fast enough to see through that uphill hairpin fast enough. Even with turning headlights, they only turn after you turn the steering wheel. I'm not talking about auxiliary aftermarket driving lights.
Well at least this post didn't turn into a rant.....yet.

When I am out driving after dark, I see many cars with the dash lights turned up to maximum, you can see the face of the driver clearly illuminated. I have always taught my girls to use minimum lighting to help preserve a little bit of night vision.

Originally Posted By: Inspecktor