Consumer Cellular?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been hearing their ads on the radio. We're currently with AT&T. When I compare plans it would appear we could cut our bill by nearly half by switching to Consumer Cellular. Does anyone have any experience with Consumer Cellular?

Been with them for 2 years. Great company, very reasonable prices. They use the AT&T network so great coverage and speeds.

Not a single complaint.

Just a warning- some of the 2nd and 3rd tier cell providers specialize in customers with mid to poor credit, so their plans tend to be both more restrictive and possibly more expensive than a similar plan from AT&T, VZ , T-Mobile or Sprint. Be very careful in comparing plans so you do not get stuck with hidden fees, and be educated on any subsidy of the cell phone itself. I have no specific knowledge of Consumer Cellular. Cricket is now owned by AT&T. Boost Mobile is another option. AT&T is making a big push into Mexico, Central America, and bundling options with Direct TV.

AT&T overall has a more modern network and underlying technology (GSM), and provides better compatibility with the rest of the world. VZ (CDMA) tends to provide better coverage in some rural areas that AT&T ignores because they will never be profitable. Check all providers coverage maps and see which is best in the areas you are most concerned about, including home and work. If your willing to allow roaming then these differences become less critical, assuming the phone works with another major carrier.

(I was focusing on North America only) .

Last edited:
Never used them myself but a lot of the second tier mobile companies do not own any towers of their own. Which is fairly obvious to most people but in a majority of cases the big 4 have deals with other providers (basically roaming). When a customer of their is out of service they can use the service of another company to get signal in that area.