Mystik JT8 15W50 Semi Syn HDEO - 2014 Road King

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: troop
I've been using this oil in my H-D motor/primary for a few years now. Thinking of giving it a try in my Yamaha FZ-09. Not sure of shearing durability but should be good for 2.5-3k miles.

Let me know if this works with your clutch. If this oil works with wet clutches, this might be my new go-to oil for my bike.

Originally Posted By: DoubleWasp
Originally Posted By: troop
I've been using this oil in my H-D motor/primary for a few years now. Thinking of giving it a try in my Yamaha FZ-09. Not sure of shearing durability but should be good for 2.5-3k miles.

Let me know if this works with your clutch. If this oil works with wet clutches, this might be my new go-to oil for my bike.

You will be good to go. Troop used it in his wet clutch Harley for a few years.

Just got back from the Rural King in Niles , Michigan . I stop there every few weeks . They are about 10miles from my house. And they finally got Mystik 15-50 oil on the shelf in store. Same as online price of $24.99 for 2 gal. jug . I bought a jug even though I just bought those 2 older jugs (1 gal. each) at the auto store. I`m just wondering since this is "Rural King" I`m wondering if they were just stocking it for summer because the tractor owners may be buying it?

I dont know Jim, maybe. I forgot where I read it, I think in a few places that this oil has a following in the Agriculture industry.

That maybe because of a couple reasons.
Two of those in my mind is price/performance and the other is that there are no other 50wt "S" and "C" rated oils on the USA market, though very common outside the USA for an equivalent ACEA rated "E" oil in a 50 weight.

The only other that I know of is Amsoil at a much, there maybe 1 or 2 others but again, unlike Mystik they are boutique priced.

Last edited: