Jeep 4.0 oil change question

Status
Not open for further replies.
3 days ago, i changed the oil on my cherokee. I used 6 qts of pennzoil hm 10w30 with a fram ultra filter. Everytime i check the oil level now, it seems to be a half inch above the full mark. This is my first time using the fram ultra filter. Is the filter possibly allowing oil to drain back to the sump? The engine is the quietest its ever been with this combo may i add!

That seems weird and could definitely be the filter allowing oil to drain back to the sump.

That is a really good combo, my friend. My father uses PHM 10w30 and a Fram TG year round and his jeep loves it. I used to use PHM but got tired of my 4.0's lifter tick with it. Though to be fair I've tried other oils that my 4.0 has had lifter tick on as well. M1 HM so far has been the only oil to really silence it for the most part and at times completely.

The engine is a fresh short block so i dont have a tick yet and im tryin to keep it that way lol. Im just wonderin why my sump seems overfilled. Ive noticed my oil gauge climbs slower than normal on cold starts aswell. I just dont want to think that i wasted $10 on a filter if you know what im saying

I personally doubt it's the filter. The 4.0's are all spec'd for 6 quarts as far as I know, but they don't all hold 6 quarts. Mine will take 6 only if I use the oversize PH8A size filter, otherwise it's 5 3/4 on the button no matter how diligently I drain it.

The 4.0 generally likes Pennzoil, I used it in mine for a VERY long time. Not surprised you are getting good results.

I do appreciate your input but it usually reads just a hair above the full mark. It is possible that i didnt drain it enough but i i waited til it was dripping from the pain. I may just forget about it and go with a wix next time and see what happens.

Originally Posted By: Volv04Life