Dress Shoes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Crazy question for an oil forum, but does anyone have experience with dress shoes? I am looking for the most comfortable shoe to wear. I do not mind paying more for quality. I have a set of Cole Haan's that I spent $100 for and after one year the sole is flat and starting to hurt my heels.

Thanks in advance

Seeing as I am in Canada but perhaps you can find similar. When I was in the military I was issued officer dress shoes as well as the regular DEU dress boots. The shoes are Oxfords, Canadian made, excellent leather and the toe takes a wicked polish. Mine are the older models with leather outer sole.

From what I recall you can get these for cheap at surplus stores. They are classy, quality built and look [censored] sharp.

I have been using them for almost 17 years and they keep softening up and just look good with a suit.

Wright makes good shoes some of which feature a small stiffener of metal deep in the construction of the sole. IIRC it's called the "Arch Preserver".
Absolutely, 100% dress shoes.
The Allen Edmunds (sp?) line is quality. They're available at Nordstrom's and other places. Nordstrom's has a HUGE sale after Father's Day.

There are other good makes. The trouble is there are good looking shoes made less well and you can't tell when they're new and shiny on the shelf.

If you want them to last a long time get cordovan shoes. Cordovan is horse hide and wears like iron. Complete top end shoes.
Of course $400-$750 for a pair of shoes might be a tad dear. And of course if someone steps on them whilst dancing at a wedding...you'll have to strangle 'em.

Originally Posted By: GGorman04
Crazy question for an oil forum, but does anyone have experience with dress shoes? I am looking for the most comfortable shoe to wear. I do not mind paying more for quality. I have a set of Cole Haan's that I spent $100 for and after one year the sole is flat and starting to hurt my heels.

Thanks in advance