Obesity and office jobs

Status
Not open for further replies.
How do people who work behind a computer all day long stay in shape? I mean even if you went to the gym I don't see it being enough. I guess you could stay in shape by drastically cutting down how much you eat since you don't need much just sitting there.

Opinions?

I kept my weight at 155 for the first few years I worked in an office by walking to work, managing my calorie intake, and using my lunch for additional cardio time. I even had an under desk pedal exercise to be able to peddle at my desk.

When I stopped these, I shot up to 224 rather quickly, and have been steady there ever since.

Caloric intake and good hydration are key. Drinking lots of water also assists in subsiding hunger.

For reference, I am an IT professional for a large healthcare organization.

I find waking up at 5am (work is at 8:30am) and going for a good hour run around the neighborhood does wonders not only for exercise and cardio, but actually waking up. It really helps avoid the "ahhh I'm not a zombie anymore and its 10am" feeling.

Besides that, working on cars, being active in a car group -- standing, shooting the [censored] with folks at car outings, at the local track... lots of walking around. I think that all definitely helps.

My work day fortunately has be going between three buildings on a campus where I can and choose to walk everywhere.

Last edited by a moderator:
I work on embedded software for living, so I'm mostly behind a computer desk. I'll go on a walks during lunchtime, and I run in the evenings. Can't be doing too badly, I'm 42, 130 pounds, and at the last physical, the doc says I'm in excellent health. Ran a 5K last weekend in 35 minutes.

Walk on your lunch break instead of going out to eat with coworkers. Pack a light and healthy lunch. Hit the gym after work.

Originally Posted By: motor_oil_madman