2016 Indian Chief TS111

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm no expert.....

...but it looks like a lot of iron (wear) and silicon can possibly come from a poor air filter.

Not much of an additive package, eh?
Better oils are more easily found.
The cheapest 15W-40 HDEO you can find is better than that stuff, sheesh.

The iron was a bit high but it's only the second oil change (first was by dealer at 500 miles) so the engine was just starting to break in. Not sure why the silicon was high as I'm using an oem paper air filter. I agree the additive package in the Indian/Victory oil (20w-40 Semi-Synthetic) is weak for what they charge for it. The oil is supposed to be API SM but to me the add pack is more in line with some API SN car oils. I replaced that oil with Rotella T4 15w-40 and I'm sure the next UOA will be better.

Last edited:
Thanks Spur! Actually I've been reading your oil conversations on the Indian forum and your UOA of the delo 400le is what convinced me to try a HDEO in the TS111. I'm a bit confused about the new CK-4 versions of rotella, delo, etc. If the new zinc/phos levels are lower than the CJ-4 stuff I may go a different route after I'm done with my current fill (Rotella T4 CJ-4/SM)

https://pqiablog.com/2017/04/24/results-in-on-four-api-ck-4-diesel-engine-oils/

Check out the new specs for the CK-4 HDEOs. There are some changes. Rotella T4 still seems pretty good. The other thing to note is there are modern additives that do not show up on the UOA analysis. This is the claim by Chevron that their additive package is as good or better than the CJ package. They are using stuff that does not show on a conventional UOA. Gonna try the Cks and look at the UOA for wear numbers and see what happens. If they are good enough for a big diesel tractor engine, they must be ok for a little ol bike motor.

Originally Posted By: CSR111