To change out filter or not. That's the question.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just bought 2007 IS250 (GDI) from BMW dealership. Reliable car except for history of carbon build up. The dealer put in PP and BMW filter (Mann filter, I'm guessing). The oil is already dirty and it has less than 2K miles on the oil, so the PP is working well.

Now, not planning on changing out oil until 5K, but would a new filter help oil performance until it hits 5K?

Thx for the help,I'm a oil/filter newb but willing read and learn.

As long as they actually changed it, I'd let the filter run out to 5k. The oil may appear "dirty" but its just doing its job. Oil in some cars/trucks looks black pretty soon after its changed, maybe around 1k miles. Others it stays fairly goldish for awhile.

You mentioned the history of carbon problems. Did engine get a rebuild because of misfire? You can check the Lexus owners website, and the information would be there reported by a Lexus dealer in service history.

To me an oil that goes dirty that fast is because dirty oil was still in the engine.

In a case like this I’ve done an engine oil flush by adding 2 cups of kerosene to a hot
idling engine and let idle for 15 minutes, then stop and change oil and filter. (old trucker trick)

Drain and allow oil to drip out for 10 minutes. Shops like to get the oil plug back in
asap to push a car thru the shop. Draining for 10 minutes or more lets 2-3 cups of oil to
fully drain that usually stays in the engine!

If after that, the oil turns dark in 2K then I’d take an oil sample for UOA and see what’s
in there at 5K.

In the cars I’ve tested and used Filtermags later, the dark oil was ferrous wear metals, lead
and aluminum that turned the oil dark! I run full synthetic and a pair of FilterMags and have
visibly clean oil for 6 months or so / 7,000 miles! It’s key to be sure you have clearance all
the way around the filter to mount the FilterMags and not hit the engine block, etc.