Where to get Oil Sampling Kits while on the road?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a Truck Driver, and I'll need to have a PM Service done on my Semi before I can get home. I have the oil and filters I'll need on board, but where can I find an oil sampling kit?

I checked with my local Napa, but they were out. As a matter of fact, the salesman told me the other Napa stores in the valley didn't have any either.

I know Tired Trucker or Dustyroads will probably have good suggestions.

I don't want to have Petro, TA, or Speedco do my sampling, I want to use a very reputable lab that will give me a detailed analysis.

BTW, if I can find the kits out here, I'm also going to send in a VOA of the CK4 Delo 400 SDE 15W40.

Thanks in advance.

I tend to send my samples in a 20 oz soda bottle. I rinse it, crack the plug and let some oil drain into it, shake and pour empty and repeat a few time and than remove the drain plug fully and fill with the sample. I tape the cap securely with electric tape after the bottle balloons up and contracts under the heat. I never get an off reading using a soda bottle. Send or pour in a kit of your choice when you get home.

Originally Posted By: Farmer
John Deere or CAT. Give them both a try.

Excellent suggestion, Farmer! Much appreciated. I'm being dispatched on some short hops for the next couple of days, running in Nebraska to Iowa, back and forth, back and forth. Plenty of John Deere dealerships in that region and they seem to be, by and large very big truck-friendly.

Thanks again, and best regards!

Originally Posted By: skyactiv