Ever been married to just one oil brand?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: HosteenJorje
Mobil I since about 1978

+1. I haven't found a reason to change. M1 has always workedwell for me in various engines.

I have been using Kendall since the early 1970s. I take oil samples of every change in every vehicle so I like continuity for the reports. There's a good distributor in my town: buying by the case my price per quart is below Wal-Mart. I started using it when I was working on the floor in a truck shop, never saw an oil-related problem and Kendall markets every lube you can think of for a fleet.

My 3.0 and 5.0 Fords get GT-1 Semi-synthetic 5W-20. The V-10 in my motor home gets GT-1 semi-synthetic 5W-30 and the Cummins/Onan generator gets Super D-XA 15W-40. None of them have any oil related issues. I don't have any desire to change what I'm doing.

In reality, #1. Use the recommended grade and weight. #2. Keep it full, and #3 Change it when the manufacturer recommends and you can move on to worrying about world peace, saving the Delta Smelt or whatever makes you happy. Your equipment will be fine.

Originally Posted By: AITG
I have been using Kendall since the early 1970s. I take oil samples of every change in every vehicle so I like continuity for the reports. There's a good distributor in my town: buying by the case my price per quart is below Wal-Mart. I started using it when I was working on the floor in a truck shop, never saw an oil-related problem and Kendall markets every lube you can think of for a fleet.

That brand has been through so many different owners and formulations that I doubt there's any consistency over those 40ish years. However, if you're getting it at a great price, then what more could you really want?

Mostly I'd think our brand loyalty is irrational. I know mine is.

When I was a kid in 71-72 I was GTX 30wt in my Honda SL100. I used Havoline 10w 40 in my Buick GS455.