Oil for a 2012 vw jetty 2.5 gas motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

A1O

Hey all my daughter just bought a 2012 vw jetta with the 2.5 ltr gas motor in it. It has vw spec 504.00 either 5w30 or 5w40 in it. What is a good oil and filter for this car. I am new to German cars been working on domestics and Japanese cars for 25 years. German cars not so much let alone having someone in the family own one. Any help would be appreciated

+1 for castrol 0w40.

And stick to either oem or Mann/Mahle filters. You can find them on Amazon reasonably priced or even directly from a VW dealer.

Pep Boys has M1 ESP 5w30, the only place I can find it on US shelves. They include it in the oil change specials, but there is a slight extra charge of a few dollars.

AAP/CQ has Castrol Edge Gold 5w30 European Diesel . I think it's included in the gold bottle oil change specials.

Originally Posted By: rooflessVW
Castrol Edge 0W-40 or Mobil 1 0W-40.

Those are 502/505. OP needs 504/507
smile.gif

Originally Posted By: slacktide_bitog
Pep Boys has M1 ESP 5w30, the only place I can find it on US shelves. They include it in the oil change specials, but there is a slight extra charge of a few dollars.

AAP/CQ has Castrol Edge Gold 5w30 European Diesel . I think it's included in the gold bottle oil change specials.

Originally Posted By: rooflessVW
Castrol Edge 0W-40 or Mobil 1 0W-40.

Those are 502/505. OP needs 504/507
smile.gif

Wrong. rooflessVW is correct. OP needs 502.00

It's a 2.5L gas motor, not a common rail 2.0L TDI with DPF that is victim to Dieselgate

Originally Posted By: UG_Passat
Wrong. rooflessVW is correct. OP needs 502.00

It's a 2.5L gas motor, not a common rail 2.0L TDI with DPF that is victim to Dieselgate

cool
thumbsup2.gif

I was just going by the OP, sorry!