M1 Annual Protection?

Status
Not open for further replies.
The penultimate tribological marketing hyperbole?

How can they supersede miles driven in a calendar year with a solely calendar based OCI?

What in the eff. Also, it's $12/qt. So it must be gold.

I drive 1k miles a week and change my oil every 6 weeks with Castrol Edge 0w20. According to this marketing I could safely perform 52k mile OCIs?

Last edited by a moderator:
Mobil 1 says. "Mobil 1™ Annual Protection 0W-20, 5W-20 and 5W-30 are ultimate full synthetic engine oils, providing proven protection for one full year or 20,000 miles between oil changes, whichever comes first, while keeping your engine running like new.

One year Or 20,000 Miles

I don't understand why this is bizarre. VW has a 10k OCI and those cars definitely push the oil to the limit (Castrol). I'm not a mechanic or engineer, but I'd imagine you'd have an oil consumption issue before the oil would falter (probably around 15k lol).

I think BMW even used to recommend a 20k/yearly OCI before they revised

Granted owning a Japanese car is much cheaper than owning a German car (as in saving thousands of $$$ cheaper, not hundreds), but [censored] these fragile OCI are insane!

6k or 6 months on a Crosstrek just seems like I'm throwing oil away 2k before it spoils.

Last edited:
Their 15k/1-year oil is $28/5quartJug, and this new stuff is 20k/1-year oil at $50/5quartJug. Whaaaaa---aaaa---aaat?
Only thing I can tell is that people who own really expensive, newer SN-GF5 and/or dexos1 engines (i.e., a new $50k Infiniti or Lexus owner) will see it on the shelf and still demand the BEST oil they see regardless of value proposition.

I don't think the price is a big jump. Ypu need to compare apples to apples, or MSRP to MSRP.

Walk into Autozone or Advanced Auto or whatever is your parts store. Regular M1 on the shelf is $10 a quart MSRP. So the $12/quart is only a 20% upcharge.