2015 Subaru Forester, which oil to use?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello folks,

I have 2015 Subaru Forester. So far, I have been doing the oil change at the dealer, but now would like to start doing it myself.

The owner's manual states I should use 0W-20 oil but over Forester forum, folks are using all ranges of viscosity, most common being 5W-30. I found occasional mentions of 0W-40 or 10W-30. I live in NY and most of the runs are short, in stop-and-go traffic. Annual mileage on this vehicle is about 7000miles. Checking out Forester forum confused me even more.

So I wonder for the type of use this vehicle has and the type of weather that I live in, what type of oil should I use? I usually change oil only once a year. Should that be changed too, to twice a year? Always heard changing oil at 3000miles is an overkill so I started practicing once a year oil change. I plan to take this vehicle to the grave. So looking for a recommendation that will keep the engine running well.

Many thanks in advance.

The turbocharged 2.5 uses 5w30....same oiling system in both so yours should do well on that also.

For a yearly change, synthetic is the way to go. Lots of choices here; I prefer Amsoil.

If you are concerned at all with potential warranty claims on the engine, follow the owners manual, which is 0w-20 oil and intervals of 6,000 miles or six months. Those viscosity recommendations on the Forester Forum must be for older models. My 2.5i spends almost all of its time in temperatures above 40 degrees, so my next oil change will be with 5w-20. But I'm not worried about a warranty issue.

You likely would be fine using any name brand synthetic 0w-20 or 5w-20, a Subaru oil filter and just changing it at 6k miles. I'm using a synthetic blend filter (Castrol SFX).

I don't think you can go wrong running Mobil 1 AFE 0w20 which can be bought cheap at WM...

Originally Posted By: pbm