EBC Plain Rotors vs Centric Plain Rotors

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I need to do a full brake service (rotors, pads, fluid) on my car, and I chose Centric Premium plain rotors. But when I got them I saw that they were made in China. Nothing againts China, but I would preffer brakes made in the US/Europe/Japan. So I ordered some EBC Premium plain rotors. When I received the EBC rotors I compared them to the Centric out of curiosity, and found that the EBC are 2 lbs lighter(EBC 14.6 lbs, Centric 16.4 lbs), but they seem to have better cooling. The space between the plates (where the veins go) is wider on the EBC.

So now I don't know which rotors I should use. Other than being a daily driver, I use my '10 Civic Si, to head out to the mountains for some spirited driving (7/10ths driving). Need some feedback. What would you do?

Centric - more mass, made in China

EBC - better cooling, less un-sprung weight, made in the UK

Here are some pics. (Last pic is EBC, second to last is Centric)

393fcb34-0016-444b-b8d5-027070fb9de5.jpg

E77D4778-6C1C-4BE9-8360-3CEA46CCC4EF.jpg

E250E5EF-24BC-4EAC-ACF0-439C2458AC68.jpg

CF79D909-211E-4A83-B4B2-8627CD6B1A8C.jpg

96573B45-9A54-4EE2-ABFC-CDE4EB6AB9DB.jpg

I was considering the EBC rotors, but they were all out of stock when I needed them. Run them and see what your experience is
smile.gif

That said, almost all rotors are Chinese, and the Centric Premium is very popular. And I've seen those pictures of the lightweight wide vane rotors that are supposedly not as good. The wider plates could mean they'll last longer. But I share your sentiment about Chinese products.

Fremax rotors are made in Brazil. Not a first-world country, but not China, either.

What pads did you buy?