What's the difference between cams that...

Status
Not open for further replies.
cams that just idle roughly sounding like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7M27YmIT70&t=60s

and cams that cause actual lope like this: https://youtu.be/oaJ3w_fAdoI?t=37s

What's the physical difference between them, and what do they cause the engine to do that makes the difference between an arrhythmic popping idle and a rhythmic lope?

I'm aware both are somehow related to valve opening overlap, but clearly there's a difference between the 2.

Sounds like the firing order is different, but I'm no expert. Hennessy I imagine will tune their cars to be sexy sounding to all, including tone deaf teenagers of rich parents.

They both sound like similar grinds. The ZL1 just has a higher idle.

The prominent popcorn sound in the second video is from valve overlap.

Quote:
"Valve overlap is the period during the valve timing where both the intake and exhaust valves are open. Occurring towards the end of the exhaust stroke, the intake valves are opened just before all the exhaust gases are released, providing more time for the intake air to enter the engine."

Last edited:
Lobe separation angle. Overlap.

camshaft_diagram.jpg

Last edited:
I've generally found a performance cam to give a lumpy idle, but had a 1600 Kent engine that had a splashy idle. I have no idea what cam it had, but it I spent a lot of time getting a better idle...top end was always good, but that splashy idle was annoying.

They will both have low manifold vacuum.

Lopiest car I've ever seen is this one...the first few seconds are genuinely the lope on the thing

You should see Batto try to get BlownLux onto the trailer on grass...no throttle, and it's throwing rooster tails of sob every second or so.

As young fellas, you could pull the choke out a bit to get a lumpy idle...but no one was fooled if it was a sidevalve Hillman Minx.