99 Silverado 4.8

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking for oil recommendations for a 99 Silverado 4.8 with 215,000 on it. The truck is old, and shows its age but so far has been 100% mechanically. I've had the truck for about 5 years and 50k now, and have been doing oil changes every 3k, plus previous owner had oil changes done every 3k at the dealership from the date of purchase. I would love to see this truck get to the 300k mark, and I figure now is the time to get serious about what I'm running in it.

-Currently using Mobil 1 5w-30 high mileage and purolator pure one filters.
-No known issues with the drivetrain
-Using a little over 3/4 quart oil every 3k
-Live in East Tennessee, temperature extremes are 10F-100F normally. Garage kept when at home.
-I'm a very easy driver, I baby both pedals. Average commute is 8 miles one way, with only 2 traffic lights, a stop sign and a roundabout. 2 lane highway. Everything else is 50/50 city and highway with the occasional steep mountain road.
-I have not tried any other oils. Walmart or Amazon are my preferred places to buy.

Should I keep doing what I'm doing since it works, or is there a better option? Should I do a UOA of the Mobil before I look into changing?

So it appears you rack up 10k miles per year. With 3k oil changes, 4 months on the oil time-wise. Are you using Mobil or Mobil 1 High Mileage? 3k/4 months on full synthetic is a waste. A conventional/synblend HM oil would be a better choice imo. Plus the consumption may be reduced by going with a conventional HM.

I have been using regular M1, a week or so ago I put M1 HM in it since Walmart was out of regular M1 5w-30. I would say now I'm closer to 8-9k a year, I've moved a lot and some years have drove 15k and others 5k.

Is the only benefit to synthetic the longer OCI? I changed the oil to M1 the day I bought the truck, and haven't ran anything else since.

Last edited: