Dangerous Work at Goodyear?

Status
Not open for further replies.
LOTO and proper safety harness use could have saved all these lives. I worked in a factory for 10 years and have gone through the safety training many many times. I used to carry my LOTO lock on my belt loop. I used it daily.

It's not always lax safety or oblivious management. Sometimes, the harder you try, the more people resist changing from their old ways. It's easy to talk safety at meetings....much different to actually walk the walk out in the facility when no one is watching.

They don't have tag-out,lock-out? And never mind what operations says about a machine being off line. Go out and have a look for yourself. True story. Two coal handling operators were unloading a 100 car coal train when shift ended,
crazy.gif
leaving completion of unloading to oncoming crew. Empty cars were across the main road back to coal handling building so employees returned to coal handling via ash haul road . Employees cleaned up and left coal handling via the main road and drove into side of empty coal car at about 40 mph. Both were seriously injured. You have to have all the hundred billion neural connections working 24/7.

2 Energy Lock Out deaths, 1 material handling death and 1 fall hazard death. Sounds like a systemic problem in that plant.

Originally Posted By: BobsArmory
2 Energy Lock Out deaths, 1 material handling death and 1 fall hazard death. Sounds like a systemic problem in that plant.

I agree with you.
It's one thing to have a bunch of written protocols for various tasks and another to have a genuine safety culture.
There are many cases in which a company talks safety but then pushes the first level supervisors to maintain production, which often results in the floor supervisors pushing the line workers to do things that are not entirely safe.
Safety costs money but its lack can cost serious permanent injuries and lives.