Mystik JT8 15W50 Semi Syn HDEO - 2014 Road King

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been using mystik 15-50 on and off for the last 4 years in my 2012 Softtail Classic. I have also used it in the primary and transmission. HD Formula + is a 50 grade oil without the additive package for a combustion engine. Never any more material on the magnetic drain plugs than using formula +.

Originally Posted By: gman2304
Just for the record, that VR1 turns in good numbers on the Harleys and the older Harleys didnt call for an HEDO if not using HD oil.

^ I just checked my manual for my 95 Electraglide Ultra Evolution and my 09 Superglide FXDC TC and both recommend HDEO oil { cf4,cg4,ch4,AND ci4} if Harley oil isn't available and to change back to Harley oil when possible. Having said this, I have used the Valvoline Vr1 conventional for years with great results.

Thanks, wow, all this time I was under the impression (from reading posts) that the older bikes just called for API gasoline oils such as SG and more recently now C rated oils.
I certainly will not make that remark again! I learned something today. *L*

Originally Posted By: pwr2tow
I have been using mystik 15-50 on and off for the last 4 years in my 2012 Softtail Classic. I have also used it in the primary and transmission. HD Formula + is a 50 grade oil without the additive package for a combustion engine. Never any more material on the magnetic drain plugs than using formula +.

You know, I have so much of the Mystik that I will never use within what I think is a reasonable time period that I was considering using it in the Transmission and Primary in which I now only use Formula+. I most likely will not, but who knows, maybe, maybe not but nice to hear some feedback on it.
I know it will not damage anything simply because besides Formula+ for the Transmission and Primary, Harley allows their regular Synthetic 20/50 Engine oil to be used.
Thanks ..

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: alarmguy